Troubleshoot Windows temporary profile

Think that you have visitors at home and one of these guests requires you to use your computer to perform some tasks. So far so good, but if you don’t want this person to see your personal files, browsing history, or settings you have on your computer, like your WiFi network key, you’re going to have to use a temporary profile on Windows.

The windows 10 temporary profile it is a clean profile, where they will not be able to access your personal files, history and other elements that you do not want them to see on your PC. Its use is very simple, similar to the old guest profile in other previous versions of Windows. The only problem is that, like everything, you can find the occasional problem. If this is your case and you no longer know what to try, you have come to the right place.

Problems with the temporary profile in Windows 10

The person may have been using their temporary profile, but after an error in the electrical current, battery or carelessness, the computer has been turned off without closing the session or without being able to manage the deletion of the information that was being worked on. said profile. When an error occurs, you may not be able to access this profile or the information has been permanently deleted, this can be stressful. Don’t worry, we’ll tell you how to fix it easily and quickly, you just have to follow a simple step-by-step.

The solution, of course, is not to stop using the temporary profile. Windows includes a way to save the information and make the profile useful again. For this you will only have to perform a set of very simple steps. These will completely fix the problem if you follow them to the letter, so let’s go with them:

  • Rescue the lost files by creating a backup of them: for this go to Computer > Local Disk C: > Users and copy the folder whose username corresponds to that of the temporary profile. After this, copy it somewhere safe, for example, the desktop. If you can do this from the temporary profile much better.
  • Now it’s time to repair the temporary profile, either in case you can’t get into it or to be able to properly restore files to it. Press Windows + R at the same time and write regedit in the command box that appears.
  • Navigate between directories and access the path HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE > SOFTWARE > microsoft > Windows NT > CurrentVersion > ProfileList.
  • In this folder, look for the record that has a .bak at the end and delete it, making sure that this is the file format.
  • After this, restart your computer and find the folder backed up with temporary profile user data. Put it back where you originally found it and this will restore your temporary files.
  • Finally, restart and you will have at your disposal a new profile with the data that you have restored, only this will no longer be temporary.

With this you will no longer have to despair the next time you want to use a temporary profile and due to a system error and reboot, the files contained in it have been lost. You will be able to restore them in a new traditional profile, which is excellent news for the person who uses the computer as a guest. You will be able to breathe easy again in a matter of seconds and nothing will be lost with the problems experienced.

Other alternatives for your computer

If you don’t want to have to go through this procedure every time the temporary profile fails, there are alternatives that cater to Windows 10. There are other options to keep the non-temporary user profile ready to work in case a guest needs to use the computer. . One of these programs is Deep Freezea software that guarantees to “freeze” the state of a computer until the point in which it was activated in a user profile.

This means that after installing an office suite, editing programs, browser and everything a user might need to work on your PC, the program is activated and maintains that state throughout the active session.

Of course, users who use said computer for a day and without rebooting will be able to leave files, browsing history and so on on the computer. These will be deleted after a reboot or logout, returning the PC to the original state when Deep Freeze was activated. This way you can make sure you don’t have extra files on your computer and everything will be as you left it.

Scroll to Top